Austen Riggs Center

Stockbridge, Massachusetts

Mental healthResidential Not yet rated

Compiled from SAMHSA FindTreatment.gov and the program's published website, as of 19 Sep 2026. Confirm current openings and your health plan directly with the program.

Levels of care
Residential
Coverage listed
Private insurance
Address
25 Main Street, Stockbridge, MA 01262
Phone & source
(413) 298-5511 (Number from the program's website)
Accreditation listed
Joint Commission
Setting
Residential
Treatment focus
Mental health
Ages
Not listed
Youth & age eligibility
Age range not specified in public record (confirm minimum age with admissions)
Last checked
Primary sources
SAMHSA FindTreatment.gov, the program's published website

What this listing shows

Austen Riggs Center is listed as a residential program in Stockbridge, Massachusetts. The listing puts it under mental health. It names one level of care, residential. For payment it names private insurance. Details on this page come from SAMHSA FindTreatment.gov and the program's published website, as of 19 Sep 2026.

Care offered

From the program's public listing:

  • Residential: live at the program and take part in treatment every day.Ask how long a stay usually runs, what a day looks like, what someone may bring and when family can visit. Ask what happens if a resident needs medical care, and what the program sets up before anyone leaves.
  • Residential psychiatric evaluation and treatment (initial six weeks)
  • extended residential

Onsite vs. coordinated services: Public records do not always separate care delivered onsite at this address from services coordinated through an affiliated campus or outside prescriber. When you call, confirm which levels of care, medical detox, or medication prescribing are provided directly onsite.

What these levels mean · Browse programs by level of care

Who they serve

Youth & age eligibility
Age range not specified in public record (confirm minimum age with admissions)

Treatment focus and specializations

Treatment focus: Mental health

Specializations listed:

  • Schizophrenia
  • Bipolar
  • Depression
  • Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD)
  • Suicidality

Therapies

Therapies listed:

  • Psychodynamic psychotherapy
  • therapeutic community
  • family work
  • psychological testing
  • psychiatric assessment

Languages

Languages listed: English

Payment

Medicaid not listed

This program's listing does not say it takes Medicaid. If you have Medicaid, ask the program before you go.

Medicare not listed

This program's listing does not say it takes Medicare. If you have Medicare, ask the program before you go.

Other coverage listed

Private insurance

These come from the program's public listing. Confirm your plan with the program.

Published network details

Provider website states that this program holds no commercial network contracts.

Out of network details

Patients may seek reimbursement through out of network benefits, reimbursement goes to subscriber. No reimbursement guaranteed.

Published payer exclusions

Residential treatment not eligible for Medicare or Medicaid reimbursement.

Published self pay rates

  • Initial six week evaluation and treatment: $97,000 per six week program (Includes $2,500 admission consultation; $60,000 refundable advance applied to total, not an extra fee. Medication, outside medical/dental care, outside tests and personal expenses extra. Rate schedule effective July 1, 2026 linked by provider.)
  • Refundable admission advance: $60,000 advance toward six week total (Credited toward $97,000 program price; do not add to price.)
  • Initial six week treatment daily component: $2,250 per calendar day billed in treatment (Provider rate sheet effective July 1, 2026. Program placement/eligibility required; some step down/day options offer fewer attendance days but billing is daily. Website lists medications/outside care/personal costs separately. PDF's illustrative $980/day Main Street example conflicts with listed $1,100 rate and is not used.)
  • Inn Residential Program: $1,525 per calendar day billed in treatment (Provider rate sheet effective July 1, 2026. Program placement/eligibility required; some step down/day options offer fewer attendance days but billing is daily. Website lists medications/outside care/personal costs separately. PDF's illustrative $980/day Main Street example conflicts with listed $1,100 rate and is not used.)
  • Elms Transition Program: $1,375 per calendar day billed in treatment (Provider rate sheet effective July 1, 2026. Program placement/eligibility required; some step down/day options offer fewer attendance days but billing is daily. Website lists medications/outside care/personal costs separately. PDF's illustrative $980/day Main Street example conflicts with listed $1,100 rate and is not used.)
  • Elms, Lavan or Main Street Program: $1,100 per calendar day billed in treatment (Provider rate sheet effective July 1, 2026. Program placement/eligibility required; some step down/day options offer fewer attendance days but billing is daily. Website lists medications/outside care/personal costs separately. PDF's illustrative $980/day Main Street example conflicts with listed $1,100 rate and is not used.)
  • Day Treatment Program: $925 per calendar day billed in treatment (Provider rate sheet effective July 1, 2026. Program placement/eligibility required; some step down/day options offer fewer attendance days but billing is daily. Website lists medications/outside care/personal costs separately. PDF's illustrative $980/day Main Street example conflicts with listed $1,100 rate and is not used.)
  • Aftercare Program: $575 per calendar day billed in treatment (Provider rate sheet effective July 1, 2026. Program placement/eligibility required; some step down/day options offer fewer attendance days but billing is daily. Website lists medications/outside care/personal costs separately. PDF's illustrative $980/day Main Street example conflicts with listed $1,100 rate and is not used.)

$97,000 initial six week treatment including $2,500 consultation fee, $60,000 refundable admission payment applied toward treatment. Medication, outside care, outside tests and personal expenses extra. Need based assistance up to 35%.

Published on the program's own fee page (checked 19 Sep 2026). Confirm current rates and inclusions directly with admissions. View program fee schedule.

Paying for treatment · More programs in Massachusetts that list private insurance · Employer PPO vs. HMO plans · FMLA & job protected leave · Using an EAP

Accreditation listed

Questions worth asking this program

Show 4 questions

These come from what this listing names, so they are the ones that fit this program rather than any program. Write the answers down with the name of the person who gave them, and the date.

  • How long does a stay usually run, and who decides when it ends?
  • Are you in network for my exact plan, and what would I owe if you are not?
  • Does the Joint Commission accreditation cover this address and this program, and when was it renewed?
  • Is there an opening now, and if not, how long is the wait and what should someone do meanwhile?

Twelve questions to ask any program

Program reviews & 5-star ratings

Share your experience with Austen Riggs Center. Every reviewer confirms an email address with a 6-digit code before posting, and reviews are checked against our review policy before they appear on the page.

Not yet rated

0 published reviews. Be the first to rate this program.

Leave a review

Confirm your email address to unlock the review form. We send a 6-digit code via Paubox that is valid for 10 minutes. Personal email addresses (like Gmail, iCloud, Yahoo, and Outlook) are welcome; disposable inboxes are not accepted. Your raw email address is never shown on the site or stored in our database; we keep only a one-way cryptographic hash (HMAC) combined with the program ID to enforce one review per person per program. Read our review policy and privacy policy.

Run this program? Sign in to your claimed program account to report a review that violates our review policy, or contact us. Reported reviews stay visible while we check them, unless reported for private health details or abuse.

Common questions about this listing

Does Austen Riggs Center take Medicaid? The provider website reports that Medicaid is not accepted at Austen Riggs Center. Call admissions directly to ask about private insurance, self pay options, or referrals to Medicaid participating programs in Massachusetts.

What Medicare or private insurance coverage does Austen Riggs Center list? Provider website states that this program holds no commercial network contracts. Share your exact plan name and member ID with admissions to verify network status and out of pocket costs before starting care.

What levels of care does Austen Riggs Center list? Austen Riggs Center lists residential. Call admissions to confirm which clinical tracks are active at this campus and whether immediate openings are available.

Is Austen Riggs Center accredited or state licensed? Public records for Austen Riggs Center list Joint Commission accreditation. Confirm current campus specific accreditation and state license numbers directly with the program or the Massachusetts licensing authority.

Who does Austen Riggs Center serve, and where is it located? Specific age groups are not listed on the public profile. The listed address is 25 Main Street, Stockbridge, MA 01262. Confirm exact age eligibility and the intake address with admissions before traveling.

How can I contact Austen Riggs Center directly? Phone published on the program's own website. We have not called it. Dial (413) 298-5511 directly to ask about current availability, clinical intake, and payment options.

About this listing

Source: cross referenced against SAMHSA FindTreatment.gov and the program's published website, compiled 19 Sep 2026. Retrieved 19 Sep 2026.

Official federal registries: Verify on SAMHSA FindTreatment.gov

Baseline directory profiles are compiled from federal registries and public provider disclosures. Call admissions directly to confirm current levels of care, plan contracts, and openings.

How listings work · Methodology & verification

Run this program? Claim or update this listing or ask about Verification and Featured Placement. Link to this listing from your website. See something wrong? Tell us.

Nearest programs within 25 miles

Austen Riggs Center is the only program listed in Stockbridge. Here are the 5 nearest programs within 25 miles, measured from ZIP or city coordinates.